Billy Magnussen talks INTO THE WOODS movie & More


PC: Shakespeare to Sondheim: how did you get involved with the big screen version of INTO THE WOODS?

BM: I just auditioned! Like I said, man – you just go in and do it! [Laughs.]

PC: That’s what you say!

BM: But, seriously, I would say that Meryl Streep was a big influence on me getting the job, though. [Sighs.] She is just lovely. I’ve just been doing my scenes with her, and, oh God, she is just awesome! Unfortunately, as you know, I can’t really talk about it, though! [Laughs.]

PC: It’s all being kept pretty hush-hush at this early stage! What can you tell me about Mackenzie Mauzy as your Rapunzel?

BM: She is just lovely, too – a really lovely girl. I loved working with her – it was really great.

(…)

PC: Have you gotten to share any time with Johnny Depp onset yet?

BM: Yes. He was a very nice guy – I met him and I could not have been more impressed with how wonderful he was. A really nice guy.

PC: How do you see the place of social media in modern movie publicity and a means to leak information and express ideas? INTO THE WOODS has had pretty extensive social media coverage, clearly.

BM: Well, for me, I don’t do it so much for publicity reasons as I just do it for my friends, you know? I’m not that good with that kind of stuff, really – it’s hard for me because I’m not witty or anything like that. I try.

(…)

PC: Have you invited Stephen Sondheim to any of the shows?

BM: I don’t think he’s in town, but we should when we are back in New York.

PC: Have you gotten some one-on-one time with him working on INTO THE WOODS?

BM: Yeah, he was there when we recorded with the orchestra and all the stuff like that.

PC: Did he give you any particular insights?

BM: Well, you know, I think what he wrote is so beautiful and the music informs the story so much – that’s what makes a great writer, I think – and it is all right there in the music and lyrics. But, yeah, he would say things like, “Here – when you are doing this line, just remember: it’s a love song.” But, yeah, he was really cool.

PC: So, filming wraps at the end of this month?

BM: Yep. The end of the month is the end. I’m so glad, too – it’s going to be really cool.

PC: It’s going to be torture waiting 13 months for it to come out!

BM: Yeah, but that’s the fun part! That’s the best thing – to wait for something for a long time and then it happens. I’ve seen it and I think people are going to be impressed. Rob Marshall really knows how to make a beautiful movie…

PC: People have been waiting for 25 years – the time has come! It’s the most anticipated movie musical since LES MISERABLES.

BM: I know! I am very, very, very excited to be a part of it.

Full interview

Leave your comment

