Emily Blunt excited to reteam with Meryl Streep for ‘Into The Woods’


In a short new interview just posted online, Emily Blunt confirms her casting in Rob Marshall’s forthcoming feature film adaptation of Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine’s multi-Tony Award-winning fairy-tale themed musical “Into the woods”.

Blunt has been speculated to be joining already confirmed stars Meryl Streep (as The Witch) and Johnny Depp (as The Wolf) in the project. Jake Gyllenhaal is also presumedly involved (as a Prince) according to many reports, as is 2012 Tony Award winner James Corden (as The Baker) and SMASH star Megan Hilty (as a Stepsister).

Also, Blunt comments on a YouTube viral video of her performing a kareoke duet with Alison Brie – on Jim Steinman’s iconic “Total Eclipse Of The Heart”, no less (also performed on Broadway as part of DANCE OF THE VAMPIRES, as a matter of fact) – saying, “It’s terrible!”

She clarifies, “People are like, ‘Well, if you want to hear her sing, this is how she sounds.’ And I’m just going, ‘Yikes!’ I hope people will not give me a hard time about it when the film comes out. I’m not the greatest singer in the room by any means, but I’ll have fun trying.”

As for sharing the screen once again with her three-time Academy Award-winning co-star Meryl Streep, whom she starred opposite in 2006’s THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA?

“I can’t believe I’m playing in two movies with Meryl where she’s playing someone who’s horrible to me,” Blunt reveals.

“I’m so excited,” she says in anticipation of embarking INTO THE WOODS.

Filming on INTO THE WOODS is set to begin in the UK later this Summer. Casting confirmation for Blunt’s role – and the others – has yet to be officially confirmed by Disney.

Check out the original article on the matter here.

BroadwayWorld

Emily Blunt is re-teaming with her “The Devil wears Prada” co-star Meryl Streep in the big screen adaptation of Stephen Sondheim’s Tony Award-winning stage show “Into the woods”.

The British actress is the latest star to join the cast of the movie musical, portraying The Baker’s Wife opposite Streep as The Witch.

Blunt is already looking forward to reuniting with the screen icon, who played her nasty boss in the 2006 comedy, telling Vulture.com, “I can’t believe I’m playing in two movies with Meryl where she’s playing someone who’s horrible to me. I’m so excited.”

However, Blunt admits critics have voiced concerns about her singing voice, after a video of her performing karaoke on a night out ended up on YouTube.com.

She adds, “It’s horrible! People are like, ‘Well, if you want to hear her sing, this is how she sounds.’ And I’m just going, ‘Yikes!’ I hope people will not give me a hard time about it when the film comes out. I’m not the greatest singer in the room by any means, but I’ll have fun trying.”

Into The Woods, which begins filming in London this autumn (13), will also feature Johnny Depp as The Wolf and British comedian James Corden as The Baker.

Source

Leave your comment

