Meryl Streep, interview


New interview with Streep for her new movie with Tommy Lee “Hope Springs” was published here. It’s on German so you can read it here on English:

“I felt so ugly”-Meryl Streep

The silver-gray hair fool you. Just like Meryl Streep’s birth. For the three-time Oscar winner has the charisma of a young girl – bright, cheerful, lively quick glance. Only the razor-sharp intelligence of responses and the pronounced pronunciation fit into a world experienced 62-year-olds. This has a disadvantage: the agreed 30 minutes of talk time at the Four Seasons Hotel in Los Angeles are just flying past.

What do you think that so many people look up to you?

Meryl Streep: You’ll have to tell my kids that have a lot wrong with me (laughs). But you’re right. I used to think to myself: That’s not my job, I’m just an actress. But eventually I realized that people depend on me, not just my kids. Anyone who is in the public responded to this terrible responsibility to make the correct decisions. For so he dictated to people what is important. Sometimes I assign this responsibility by myself, but I can not escape it.

Their status is even increased, because this year you won your third Oscar. Did you like this after all the awards still mean something?

Meryl Streep: But of course. The nomination was a big deal for me. Because that is spoken by all the actors from the Academy who know exactly how much work goes into such a role. And I never thought that I would be able to experience at 62. At 40 I got three different offers for movies in which I was to play a witch. More roles for actresses at that time were at my age is not available. I’m incredibly grateful for everything.

It must be brought to such successes also victims – as in private regard?

Meryl Streep: My oldest son wanted probable that it is not so often the school would have to change. Because of my films then we traveled quite over the globe. But my other children I did not want to do more. Therefore, I sought after that only productions that are filmed in America. And I thought my family deliberately out of the whole media circus. That’s why I gave up the whole glamor and never let me celebrate as big movie star.

Nevertheless, this life as a star and mother demanded a lot of energy. What served as your?

Meryl Streep: My oldest son wanted probable that it is not so often the school would have to change. Because of my films then we traveled quite over the globe.But my other children I did not want to do more. Therefore, I sought after that only productions that are filmed in America. And I thought my family deliberately out of the whole media circus. That’s why I gave up the whole glamor and never let me celebrate as big movie star.

Nevertheless, this life as a star and mother demanded a lot of energy. What served as your?

Meryl Streep: I have no idea. Somehow I always had huge reserves. And I’m actually quite lazy. But if I have a job, then I pull myself together. Because if I’m afraid to fail, it is amazing what pure fear can drive me. (Laughs).

Two of your daughters have also became actresses. Was not it hard to emerge from the shadow of such a famous mother?

Meryl Streep: I was certainly glad that my parents were just ordinary people. My mother was a normal housewife, even though she said: “If I had you not had children, I would have become bar singer.” Gave the show business aspirations so it earlier in my family. I always said to my children: “You are privileged, but you have a problem – namely, me. However, this is also a benefit. If it does not works with you, then let you guys also talk to me. “However, it has worked for my daughters. Who served at the beginning of her career much easier than I, particularly Mamie who got equal with 21 a Theatre World Award.

In your new film, “Like the first time”, you and your husband of many years again discover the feelings for each other. What success recipe you have for your marriage with Don Gummer, with which you have been married 33 years

Meryl Streep: Such problems it has never given us. Our marriage has worked well because we both had for each other’s needs understanding. And so it was just important that I worked too much. We always had plenty of time for each other.

Could you have imagined a simple life as a housewife?

Meryl Streep: I can understand women who find their happiness only in the family. And I play even the good housewife. I bügle and cook, and I have looked extensively for the education of my four children. Three of them are now out of the house even now. But I would have been totally unhappy, I could have to do anything else. I love my work. I have all my feelings, can my frustrations, fears and passions make air. And I need this job. Otherwise, I would make me and my fellow crazy. However, I’m not sure if I would go back into the movie business today.

Although you are considered one of the best actresses in America?

Meryl Streep: But then I was not saved from my inferiority complex. Recently I zapped through the night program, and I saw myself in “Manhattan” by Woody Allen. And I remembered how ugly I felt at that time.

You seriously do not think it?

Meryl Streep: Oh yes, I thought I was too fat and my nose for far too long. Now I think: She was so beautiful that she had only? But at the time I went crazy and that would be even worse today. For a young actress, it’s no longer enough just to have talent. You must also stylize to a sex object. And all I would certainly not have gone through. Before auditioning for “Out of Africa” ​​I filled out my bust size, so sexy I worked for director Sidney Pollack. But something I did again.

How did you overcome those complexes?

It was a slow process. At some point you realize that you have to be yourself.Earlier I looked at fashion magazines and thought, I want to be as thin as these models. And then I realized that this will never happen and so I found myself with it.

Now you will feel so comfortable in your skin?

Meryl Streep: I have no choice. Eventually I arrived at the point where I said to myself: You were very lucky in this life. But I must admit, I would hope that I would be as fit as ever. It begins with the fact that I’m going up to the first floor and then can not remember what I was doing.

Aging bothers you that?

Meryl Streep: No, because so many good things are connected. Alone, that I have so many friends in the industry. And the best part is that maybe I have seen how my children have grown up. I remember when I first saw her face and wondered how they could develop. And now I talk normally with them and listen to their opinions.

That is, for now is the best time ever come?

Meryl Streep: My job is still as difficult as ever. Whenever I play a role, I have periods of enormous self-loathing and great doubt. I wish I could then blow everything. And every time my husband reminds me remember that these feelings are part of my working process. And the fears of my children I will never get rid of anyway. I do not want to say only, otherwise they come true yet.

But somehow you have to relax but of this stress?

Meryl Streep: Do not worry, I can carry my. A good play, beautiful music, and I feel happy and alive again. And then there is a last resort, it never fails: a glass of wine. This is my true elixir.

Interview by Rüdiger Sturm

Leave your comment

