“Hope Springs” – Review by Upcoming Movies


New review published by Upcoming Movies here:

Streep and Jones are Kay and Arnold Soames, married now for 31 years. For Arnold, 31 years says it all.  It’s an accomplishment in and of itself, and maybe the romance is gone, but he’s content and thinks they have a lot to be proud of. Kay though wishes Arnold would touch her like he used to – not just sexually, but just an affectionate touch to acknowledge she’s there. They sleep separately because of Arnold’s snoring, but we’re left wondering if that’s an excuse. Kay pushes them into a week-long retreat and counseling session with a noted marriage counselor (Steve Carell).

There is good drama between the two in their sessions, but don’t expect the kind of big dramatic revelatory moments that wins Oscars.  They sit and they talk, like a real couple would. There’s no great moment where Kay or Arnold just stands up and blurts out a great secret. Orchestral music doesn’t blare for an emotional outpouring.  There is honesty at a reasonable volume.

But there are great moments. Just watch their body language on the couch. Depending on how things are going, they’re close, they’re far apart, they’ve tilted toward each other – a lot gets said. And in scenes outside therapy, they each say a lot with their faces – watch for some well-placed frowns or smiles.

Full article

8 thoughts on ““Hope Springs” – Review by Upcoming Movies

  1. I really liked your review! Good job 😀 Being a chic, I might just go and see this with my grandmother next week.

    Anna – Thanks! Have fun! 😛 That’ll be cool, definitely! 😀 I will go with my mom, at least planning to do so but it’s plenty of time until the release here anyway. 😦

  2. Whats Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist other users like its helped me. Great job.

    Anna – Thank you so much! I’m so happy to hear it! ^^

  3. You can certainly see your skills within the work you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  4. I was real happy to encounter this web-site. I wished to thank you for your time for this terrific read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked and look for new stuff your web site.

Leave your comment

