Streep and Jones – secrets to the lasting mariege


A new interview with Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones was posted:

LOS ANGELES – It is always a delight to interview the great Meryl Streep as she is one of those rare Hollywood goddesses who is truly down-to-earth, frank and witty.

When they interviewed her for her latest movie, “Hope Springs,” at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills one beautiful afternoon, Meryl was radiant and blooming, sweet and funny.

This multi-awarded actress, who just turned 63 last June 22, has remained humble. When they asked her how open she was to change or to other people’s input, Meryl disclosed:

I think if you’re an actor, you have to be open to other people’s input. It’s sort of your professional job. It’s your food as an actor. What you need to do is to be alert to what someone’s asking of you emotionally and in every way, comically so I think that that’s something I try to stay aware of in everything. In every sort of transaction with a person, I try to really hear what they’re asking, what they’re deeply asking.

In “Hope Springs”, Meryl (as Kay) and Tommy Lee Jones (as Arnold) portray a devoted couple, who after decades of marriage, have left Kay wanting to spice things up and reconnect with her husband.

So, what kind of advice did her own mother give her before she got married or what kind of advice did she give her daughter when she got married. She joked:

My mother said never go upstairs without taking something upstairs that needs to go up there. She didn’t really give me advice that way. But I remember telling my daughter at her wedding to try as hard as she could to be there. Instead of you getting frenzied that you are thinking about a million other things and you are not exactly where you are. Just try to find a quiet place and to be exactly in this moment because she’ll remember it all her life.

Meryl, who will be married for 34 years to sculptor Donald J. Gummer this September 30th, revealed what to us what she thinks is the most important thing that couples should remember to stay long in a relationship.

My opinion is to stay alert and alive to each other, she said. To speak and be heard and to break patterns and to not be complacent.

She added,

Respect is very important but these are bromides. I mean, we all know this, don’t we? But the specifics of this story are specific to this couple and what the therapist suggests for Kay is not what he’d suggest for you. I think everybody has a different set of what is it that Tolstoy said, ‘Every happy family is alike. Every unhappy family is unhappy in their own way.’

• • •

As for Tommy, he admitted that he accepted the role in this romantic comedy because of Meryl.

Meryl Streep attracted me to it, he confessed. I thought the script was pretty good and it had some originality to it. It was real. It was about real people with real problems who are in a rut, sort of complacent and usually dependent on one another. So I thought over for about two seconds when they told me that Meryl was going to do the movie. My motivation was Meryl.

In this movie, Meryl is very sensual as Kay.

The Kay that Meryl plays is a woman with a frustrated sensuality, a woman who’s lived a complacent life much longer than she wants to live it than she wants.

She has to change it and she wants to change it. She’s brave enough to change it. It takes a lot of courage to make the decisions that her character makes and Meryl knows quite a lot about herself and quite a lot about the rest of the world. She can recognize these characteristics and perform them within the context of the screenplay for our benefit.

Full article

One thought on “Streep and Jones – secrets to the lasting mariege

  1. of course like your website however you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to inform the reality nevertheless I’ll certainly come again again.

    Anna – I’m sorry if I have any mistakes in my posts. However I said I’m from Bulgaria, I am studying English so it’s a foreign language for me. I know sometimes I have problems with the grammer and writing so I apologize for that. Anyway I check the posts twice before posting for any mistakes at all..

Leave your comment

